Epsom and Ewell Town Twinning Association



THE CHATEAU OF THE REINE BLANCHE


One of the most picturesque and attractive places in the forest of Chantilly is the romantic site of the Commelles lakes, at one end of which is the neo-gothic Chateau of the Reine Blanche.
It is named after Blanche de Castille, mother of Saint-Louis, who, legend tells stayed there. In reality, a small fortified building was constructed there in 1223 by King Louis VIII. The takes and the house passed through many hands and, finally in the early 19th century, the Duc de Bourbon converted the house into a mediaeval castle in the gothic style, which is as it appears today.


Copyright © Epsom and Ewell Town Twinning Association